Lightning Unveil 'Alumni Almanac, Presented By Bright House Networks'

Wednesday, 01.16.2013 / 12:43 PM Tampa Bay Lightning

The Tampa Bay Lightning today announced the list of the Top 20 hockey personnel in franchise history that will be honored as the Alumni Almanac, presented by Bright House Networks, during the 2012-13 season. The list was compiled from fan votes at during the offseason.

The list consists of 14 skaters, two goaltenders and four non-players, consisting of coaches and managers. Of the skaters, three of them are current Lightning players. Those are Martin St. Louis, Vincent Lecavalier and Steven Stamkos. Of all the players on the list, Lecavalier has the most goals, assists, points and games played. The youngest player is Stamkos, a former first-overall pick, at 22-years-old. Stamkos is additionally one of three players who were originally first overall selections in the NHL Entry Draft, along with Tampa Bay’s first-ever draft pick, Roman Hamrlik, and Vincent Lecavalier. Of the 16 players, 10 of them were part of the Lightning’s 2004 Stanley Cup Championship team. The goalies selected are Daren Puppa, who backstopped the Bolts to their first playoff appearance, as well as Nikolai Khabibulin, who led the Lightning to the 2004 Stanley Cup.

In the non-player category, the four men selected represent two different eras in Lightning hockey. The first two come from the beginning of the franchise. The first is the man who brought the Lightning to Tampa Bay, Hockey Hall-of-Famer and founder Phil Esposito, who now serves as a vice president and radio analyst for the team. The other is the team’s original coach, Terry Crisp, who coached the team from 1992 through 1998. The remaining two played key roles in the Lightning’s Stanley Cup and Southeast Division Championships. Jay Feaster served as general manager of the Lightning from 2001-08 after relieving Rick Dudley. Feaster currently holds the same position with the Calgary Flames. The final selection is John Tortorella who coached the Lightning for six seasons from 2001-08 and is the franchise’s all-time leader in wins with 239. He is currently the head coach of the New York Rangers.

Through the process, fans had the ability to cast their votes for their favorite players, coaches and general managers spanning the team’s entire history. They were able to choose from nearly 50 of the best from the Bolts’ 20 seasons. Those players that were voted in will be featured on the new, $5 million LightningVision center-hung video display board and in arena during the 2012-13 season.

Fans can still visit to see the entire list that will be honored during the upcoming season and share their own favorite personnel and moments on their Facebook wall. They can also submit their own video memories by answering the question “What does 20 Years of Thunder Mean to You”. The top submissions will be featured on the site and on LightningVision during select home games.

The Best of the Bolts – The Personnel


Jersey # Pos. Name Tenure with Lightning GP G A P

25 LW Dave Andreychuk 2001-2006 278 68 61 129

22 D Dan Boyle 2001-2008 394 66 187 253

19 C Brian Bradley 1992-1998 328 111 189 300

17 RW Ruslan Fedotenko 2002-2007 313 74 70 144

44 D Roman Hamrlik 1992-1998 377 52 133 185

13 D Pavel Kubina 1997-2006, 2010-2012 662 72 171 243

8, 4 C Vincent Lecavalier 1998-present 998 373 469 842

33 LW Fredrik Modin 1999-2006 445 145 141 286

19 C Brad Richards 2000-2008 552 150 339 489

26 RW Martin St. Louis 2000-present 862 319 513 832

91 C Steven Stamkos 2008-present 325 179 150 329

27 C Tim Taylor 2001-2007 365 23 38 61

15 RW Paul Ysebaert 1994-1999 215 42 66 108

7 LW Rob Zamuner 1992-1999 475 84 116 200


Jersey # Pos. Name Tenure with Lightning GP W-L-OT GAA SV%

35 G Nikolai Khabibulin 2000-2004 192 83-74-28 2.39 0.914

93 G Daren Puppa 1993-2000 206 77-91-26 2.68 0.905


Title Name Tenure with Lightning

Head Coach Terry Crisp 1992-1998

Founder/General Manager Phil Esposito 1992-1999

General Manager Jay Feaster 2001-2008

Head Coach John Tortorella 2001-2008

Back to top ↑