Lightning Announce Upcoming Honorees for 20th Anniversary Celebration

Sunday, 01.27.2013 / 1:26 PM Tampa Bay Lightning

The Tampa Bay Lightning today announced the list of personnel and moments that will be honored in conjunction with the organization’s 20th anniversary celebration during home games in January and February. Each game will feature a special guest from the Lightning’s past who will be recognized in the arena and on Thunder Alley (the West Plaza).

Compiled this past summer via fan voting on, the Lightning’s top 20 moments, Lightning Legacy, presented by DEX Imaging, and the 20 top personnel, Alumni Almanac, presented by Bright House Networks, will be recognized at all Lightning games at the Tampa Bay Times Forum this season. Fans can still visit the site to see the entire list that will be honored during the upcoming season and share their own favorite personnel and moments on their Facebook wall. They can also submit their own video memories by answering the question “What does 20 Years of Thunder Mean to You”. The top submissions will be featured on the site and on LightningVision during select home games.

The 20th anniversary celebration kicked off on opening night last Saturday when inaugural team members Brian Bradley, Pat Jablonski, Joe Reekie and Chris Kontos joined founder and first general manager Phil Esposito on the ice for a ceremonial puck drop. Taking the draw was Lightning captain Vincent Lecavalier and the Lightning’s first-ever draft pick, Roman Hamrlik, now playing for the Washington Capitals. The alumni signed autographs and appeared on the Thunder Alley stage.

Back to top ↑